As all of us in the Business Travel community have been closely monitoring the varying levels of compliance for the REAL ID Act, many states continue to lack the proper validation to meet these requirements.

Driver’s licenses from five states may not be valid for domestic flights soon. The REAL ID Act, a law that has been implemented in phases, will take full effect on October 1, 2020. While most states are compliant, some have filed for extensions. If those states are not in compliance by their extension deadline, travelers from those states will need to arrive at the airport with a secondary federal ID, such as a U.S. Passport.

The REAL ID Act establishes minimum security standards for license issuance and production and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for certain purposes driver’s licenses and identification cards from states not meeting the Act’s minimum standards. The purposes covered by the Act are: accessing Federal facilities, entering nuclear power plants, and boarding federally regulated commercial aircraft.

The following states are not currently in compliance:

  • Kentucky – Extended until August 2019
  • Maine, New Jersey, Oklahoma, and Oregon – Extended until October 10, 2019

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *