This article was updated on June 30th to include states added to the mandatory quarantine.

Travelers from 16 U.S. states are currently required to quarantine for 14 days if they travel into New York, New Jersey or Connecticut.

The mandatory quarantine list is based on the percentage of COVID-19 cases in each state, with 10 positive cases per 100,000 residents serving as the threshold. Right now, this list includes travelers from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah. The list is subject to change as COVID rates fluctuate in each state, and will be updated regularly.

How Travelers Are Affected

Both business and leisure travelers are subject to the quarantine, as well as residents of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut who are returning home from COVID-19 hotspots.

Noncompliance with this order may result in fines and penalties in some cases, but it is primarily being enforced through individual accountability. Travelers arriving in these states will see signs in the airports serving as a reminder, and hotels and other rental businesses have been notified of the quarantine requirements.

Watch for Potential Changes

Governer Lamont of Connecticut has stated that he is considering a negative COVID-19 test result within a few days of travel to Connecticut as a possible exemption to quarantine for business travelers and others who may not plan to be in the state for 14 days. However, this has not been enacted yet.

It is also required to wear a face covering or mask while in public in New York and Connecticut, and while in stores and restaurants in New Jersey. As always, be sure to check current legislation and recommendations before traveling to a different state.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *